I was hit by an uninsured driver in Connecticut. Now what?
In the unfortunate event that this happens to you or a loved one, it’s critical to be prepared for what you may be up against. It’s a startling fact that according to the Insurance Information Institute, there are an estimated 9.4% uninsured drivers in Connecticut. With more than 2.6 million licensed drivers in the state, this means that there are approximately 244,400 uninsured drivers on our roadways. In short, it is not a rare event to be involved in an auto accident with an uninsured driver.
Connecticut is an “at-fault” auto accident state which means that financial compensation for injuries and damages falls on the person who is at-fault for causing the accident. Continue reading to discover what happens after you’re involved in a motor vehicle accident with an at-fault uninsured or underinsured driver in Connecticut.
Do I Need Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Connecticut?
Almost every state in the U.S. requires auto owners to carry auto liability insurance to legally drive a car. If you are at-fault in an accident, liability insurance helps pay for the other person’s damages. When it comes to auto liability insurance, there are two forms: bodily injury liability coverage and property damage liability insurance. If you live in Connecticut, the minimum amount of coverage required is $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury liability and $25,000 per accident for property damage liability.
Fortunately, Connecticut is one of the 22 states that also require uninsured motorist coverage. So in the event that you are hit by a driver who is not insured or underinsured, you can still expect to be compensated for the damages incurred. However, the coverage you are insured for may not enough to cover all the damages. This is where additional uninsured motorist may be a smart decision.
Do I Need to Purchase Additional Uninsured Motorist Coverage?
You can purchase additional uninsured motorist coverage, called uninsured motorist coverage, of up to an amount double your bodily injury liability. Uninsured motorist coverage covers bodily injury to you, your family members who live with you and your passengers if injuries are caused by an uninsured motorist.
There is also underinsured motorist coverage, which is not also required under Connecticut law, to consider. Under this coverage, you can receive a reimbursement if you are injured by an underinsured driver. This means that your injury or damages surpass what the at-fault driver’s insurance can cover. In this case, your underinsured motorist coverage will compensate you for the damages not paid. For example, if you purchased $50,000 of uninsured motorist coverage and got into an accident with a driver who had a policy of $30,000 and it did not cover your total damages, then you can use your own insurance policy to cover the difference.
Hit and Run Accidents
Uninsured motorist coverage also protects drivers in the case that they are involved in a hit and run accident. Unfortunately, hit and run accidents are also not uncommon; in fact, the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety states that an accident in which the driver evades the scene happens more than every minute in the U.S. Sadly, hit and run cases are on the rise, which is all the more reason to have a firm understanding on how uninsured motorist coverage works.
Connecticut has stringent deadlines for giving notice to your insurance company if you are involved in a hit and run accident. To ensure you receive the maximum financial compensation you are owed, it’s critical to contact a personal injury attorney shortly after getting into a hit and run accident.
In the event that you were hit by a driver with no insurance or is underinsured, you may be able to file a claim with your insurance company. Remember that insurance companies are for-profit businesses that may attempt to undervalue your case and compensate you as little as possible and the process can often be challenging. An experienced personal injury attorney is on your side and will represent your case to receive the maximum settlement amount. An expert personal injury lawyer knows how to skillfully counter the tactics that insurance companies typically use to undermine your case.
If you or a loved one has been injured as a result of a motor vehicle accident, contact Robert L. Cavanaugh, Connecticut Personal Injury Attorney with more than 25 years of expertise, by clicking below or calling (203) 259-5400.